Uncategorized

november in review

Hard to believe December’s here already! You know, for being in Pittsburgh, winter hasn’t been to bad (yet!).

REVIEWS
Mini Reviews: Something Red & The Pleasures of Men by Douglas Nicholas and Kate Williams; DNF

Initially I put down Something Red after awful formatting made it near impossible to read on my e-reader and, after reading terrible reviews, I didn’t bother to pick it back up.

The Pleasures of Men was a Victorian serial killer novel! How could it be anything but awesome? Sadly, extremely dry writing and confusion narration made us part ways.

The Infects by Sean Beaudoin; 3 stars

A zombie story where The Rock is the main character’s inner voice of reason. I’m usually not big on zombies, but I couldn’t pass on this one. An annoying little sister and immature humor ultimately made this one pretty average.

The Art Forger by B. A. Shapiro; 4.5 stars & a top read of 2012!

Using the very real art heist of 1990 as this story’s backbone, Shapiro beautifully created a world of backstabbers, revenge, and forgeries. I’m NOT an art person, yet at no point did I feel lost. And get this: the author isn’t an artist! Talk about doing your homework.

Fairy Tales from the Brothers Grimm by Philip Pullman 3 stars

Pullman shares his fifty favorite Grimm tales in this new anthology. Some of them, like Cinderella and Snow White, I was familiar with, but the majority were new to me. After each tale Pullman gave his thoughts which I thought was really interesting.

Spark by Brigid Kemmerer; 5 stars

And we’re back with those Merrick brothers. This time Gabriel gets the spotlight and I loved him even more than I did in Storm. Spark feels more like a side story than part of the series, but I didn’t mind one bit. This was 100% character-driven and I was more than willing to tag along for the ride.

Deadly Row to Hoe by Cricket McRae; 3.5 stars

I LOVE cozies and this one was no exception. Although this book is the 6th in the series, there was more than enough backstory given that I didn’t feel confused at all. A community supported farm might not seem like the most exciting of settings, but once the ball got rolling (and the first victim was discovered in a compost pile), I was completely engrossed.

Saving Moby Dick by L.L. Samson; 4 stars

The Enchanted Attic series has taken up residence in my heart. It’s adorable and definitely one for the MG crowd. The first book features a sweet Quasimodo and this time around it’s Captain Ahab who steps through to our world.

FEATURES
Movie Moments: Strigoi & Leviathan

“It’s never a good sign when you find yourself struggling to keep your eyes open during a film, especially when it’s about vampires returning from the grave to wreak havoc among a town.” If you’re looking for a good vampire flick, Strigoi is NOT the way to go. Leviathan, on the other hand, was a fun monster movie.

History 101: The Greatest Art Heist in History

Piggybacking off my review of The Art Forger, I discussed the actual events in this edition of History 101. To this day no one knows who the thieves were and the artwork still has yet to be found.

Movie Moments: Skyfall & Jiro Dreams of Sushi

James Bond and a documentary about a sushi master? I LOVED both of these and highly recommend them!

OTHER
October in Review (aka, the Month of Awesome.)
5 Ways to Get Me to Read a Book

Inspired by a post of Kelly’s (from Radiant Shadows), I discussed five huge turn-ons about books. Authors, take note!

My Night With Neil Gaiman

Pittsburgh finally got its hands on Neil and he gave an amazing talk a few weeks ago. He also shared a sample of his upcoming book and discussed Doctor Who secrets!

One thought on “november in review

  1. You might want to try Something Red again. It got starred reviews from Publishers Weekly, Library Journal, and Kirkus Reviews–Kirkus named it one of the hundred best fiction books of 2012–and that’s all fiction, not SF/F or historical fiction. Also check out the reviews on the Amazon page for the hardcover.

    Best,

    Douglas

Leave a Reply

