Uncategorized

5 ways to get me to read a book!

This post is inspired by Kelly’s recent post on ways to have her pick up a book (or avoid it) as well as this week’s Feature & Follow which dealt with literary deal breakers.

I’d like to think I’m fairly laid back when it comes to books. As long as the writing is great and the plot is interesting, I’ll read a novel regardless of genre.

That said, there are a few things that will make me automatically read a book no matter what.

1. Certain authors
This one’s a given, right? Certain authors are on my auto-buy list, so it’s only natural they’d also be autoreads. Whether they’ve grown a little formulaic (Steve Berry) or are debut authors (Christopher Healy), this special group rises above the rest and easily jumps to the top of my TBR piles.

2. Gatsby/Jazz Age
This blog takes its name from Gatsby, after all! I’m a total sucker for anything pertaining to the 20s and my bookcases are proof.

3. The Romanovs
Despite naming this blog after Gatsby, I have to admit I’m even more inclined to read a book if a Romanov is involved. Especially if it’s a story about one of the children (Alexei in particular) surviving – and there are plenty of those around. In the summer I made a special post on the anniversary of the Imperial family’s death and included links to reviews of Romanov-centric books.

4. Covers
I have no shame in admitting I judge books by their covers. I’m sure they’re wonderful books, but if it has a boring (sorry, girls-in-giant-dresses!) – or downright ugly – cover, I won’t give it the time of day. I’m a big fan of illustrated covers, especially for MG.

5. Trusted Recommendation
Whether it’s an author’s blurb on the front cover or a good friend’s gushing praise, if someone whose opinion I trust has good things to say about a book, chances are I’ll give it a shot. On the other hand, if they only have awful things to say about it, I’ll know to skip it.

Are there certain things that will make you automatically read a book?

3 thoughts on “5 ways to get me to read a book!

Leave a Reply

