Uncategorized

october in review

October was The Month of Awesome Books for me! Although I didn’t read nearly as much as I had hoped, the books I did read were phenomenal.

REVIEWS
Poltergeeks by Sean Cummings, 3 stars

Looking for a fun, quick paranormal YA? Look no further. Bonus: no love triangle!

The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom by Christopher Healy, 5 stars

Not only did this book quickly become one of my favorites of 2012, but it’s also now one of my favorites period. Finally the real Princes Charming (there are actually four, thank you very much!) get to tell their side of the story.

The Diviners (The Diviners #1) by Libba Bray, 5 stars

I now see why everyone adores Libba Bray. The Diviners was my introduction to her and what an introduction it was! Not only was the setting incredible (Jazz Age, hello!), but the details were exceptional and there were parts of this book that terrified me to the point where I refused to read this book at night.

The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton, 4 stars

Kate does it again. Alternating between WWII-era England and the present, The Secret Keeper tells the tale of a daughter who witnessed a murder, a mother who committed that murder, and the mystery behind it.

FEATURES
History 101: Will the Real Mother Goose Please Stand Up?

History 101 is an original feature where I combine my love of literature and history. In this edition I discuss the origin of Mother Goose as well as possible identities. For my book recommendation, I chose Jasper Fforde’s Nursery Crimes series.

OTHER
DNFs, Slumps, & You

The changing weather always tends to bring about reading slumps. Whether you can’t muster up the motivation to read or you just can’t find anything that looks good, cold weather seems to be a low point for bloggers. In this post I discussed this phenomenon as well as Seasonal Affective Disorder

2 thoughts on “october in review

Leave a Reply

