Uncategorized

september in review


Good-bye September, Hello October!

Fall is here and I’m loving it! Pumpkins have already invaded my food & drinks and Matt & I have been stocking up on fall-scented candles. ♥

September wasn’t a bad month here! The first week was pretty quiet – I was just getting back into the swing of things after a mini-vacation. I featured a birthday edition of quote love and celebrated my birthday in style.

Reviews
Beautiful Music for Ugly Children by Kirstin Cronn-Mills 4 stars
Absolutely lovely book and although it had a few minor faults, it definitely is one of my favorite books of 2012! (& I’m normally not a contemporary fan!)
Pies & Prejudice by Ellery Adams 4 stars
The first in a new series and you all know how I love my cozies. &hearts Again, a few issues, but overall it was definitely fun and I’ll be sure to come back for more. Also: PIES.
The Corpse-Rat King by Lee Battersby 3 stars
I wanted so much more out of this book than I got. The premise was AMAZING, but at times it felt as though the story took a backseat to the author’s prose. Gorgeous writing, yes, but without substance.
Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan 3 stars
And here it is: the book everyone and their brother want to read. Ancient families, tiny villages, dark secrets. YES PLEASE. Unfortunately, this was a book that started off great, only to lose its steam by the end.

Features
History 101: Giants!
History 101 received some really positive feedback and I’m more than happy to make this a regular feature! For more info check out its page here. In this edition I talked about the Cardiff Giant and recommended The BFG.

Extras
Roald Dahl Day
Hands down one of my favorite holidays. Roald Dahl was a huge influence on me as a child and I still look up to him to this day.
Further Reading: Unspoken
Throughout Unspoken, there are little snippets of poetry and I went through the book, collected all the passages, and compiled a list including links to read the poems in their entirety.

Leave a Reply

