2012 · 3 stars · paranormal · ya

review; poltergeeks

Title: Poltergeeks
Author: Sean Cummings
Pub. Date: October, 2012
Source: Publisher
Summary: 15-year-old Julie Richardson is about to learn that being the daughter of a witch isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. When she and her best friend, Marcus, witness an elderly lady jettisoned out the front door of her home, it’s pretty obvious to Julie there’s a supernatural connection.

In fact, there’s a whisper of menace behind increasing levels of poltergeist activity all over town. After a large-scale paranormal assault on Julie’s high school, her mother falls victim to the spell Endless Night. Now it’s a race against time to find out who is responsible or Julie won’t just lose her mother’s soul, she’ll lose her mother’s life.
Genre: YA, Paranormal
Rating:

Somebody killed my father. I don’t know who did it or why, but I’m going to find them.

I’m a girl.

I’m a witch.

I’m a Shadowcull.

Someone is going to pay.

I went into this book fairly blind – I had never read any book by Sean Cummings prior to Poltergeeks nor was I a big paranormal reader. The plot intrigued me and having a strong mother-daughter relationship was a definite plus. Now that I’ve read it, I’m glad I took that chance.

Julie Richardson is your average 15-year old. Except for the fact that she’s a witch. And can see spirits. Her best friend Marcus is her constant companion and one of the few people who knows what Julie truly is.

What initially seems like a typical poltergeist turns out to be far more menacing. An attack on her school has left Julie shaken and her mother in the hospital comatose and under a powerful (and fatal) spell. In an attempt to save her mother’s life, Julie makes a deal with an immortal and with the help of her guardian and some friendly advice from the spirit of her father, Julie prepares to face down her demons. Literally.

Poltergeeks is a fairly short book that can easily be read in an afternoon. It was a pretty average read – nothing horrible, but nothing remarkable – and there was a cute romance (and no love triangle!). Unfortunately, I felt the Big Reveal was a bit of a letdown and more than once I was confused and not quite sure what was going on or why the villain did what they did.

It doesn’t seem like Poltergeeks will be a series, but the ending is written in such a way that it’s certainly possible.

Over the course of the novel, the writing style seemed much more suited to a Middle Grade novel, yet there’s quite a bit of profanity thrown about. Originally I would have definitely said Poltergeeks would be right at home with 10-ish year olds (mainly due to the writing style), but once multiple f-bombs were dropped, I reconsidered.

Fans of paranormal YA will most likely enjoy Poltergeeks. There’s nothing mind-blowing about this novel, but it’s a quick, enjoyable ride nonetheless.

One thought on “review; poltergeeks

Leave a Reply

