Uncategorized

further reading: unspoken

Earlier this evening I posted my review of Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan. Despite a few issues with the latter half, I did enjoy the book overall – particularly the atmosphere. Gothic novels are such wonderful books to read, especially this time of the year when the days are shortening and there’s a chill in the air.

Unspoken is split into six parts and at the beginning of each there’s a quote. Personally I love when an author does this. :) Love it! The quote choices for this novel worked so well and really set the tone for that particular section.

I thought it would be fun to list the origins of those quotes.

Somewhere or other there must surely be
The face not seen, the voice not heard

Part I: Somewhere or Other by Christina Rossetti.

I feel that I shall stand
Henceforth in thy shadow, Nevermore
Alone upon the threshold of my door

Part II: Sonnet VI: Go From Me by Elizabeth Barrett Browning

Whose woods these are I think I know

Part III: Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening by Robert Frost

How many loved your moments of glad grace
And loved your beauty with love false or true
But one man loved the pilgrim soul in you

Part IV: When You Are Old by W. B. Yeats

The night is darkening around me,
The wild winds coldly blow;
But a tyrant spell has bound me,
And I cannot, cannot go

Part V: The Night is Darkening Round Me by Emily Brontë.

So dawn goes down to day.
Nothing gold can stay

Part VI: Nothing Gold Can Stay by Robert Frost

2 thoughts on “further reading: unspoken

Leave a Reply

