Uncategorized

August in review

Yikes, another month gone! :) September’s always exciting – it’s my birthday month. Saturday (the 8th) is my birthday & I can’t wait!

Reviews
The Sinister Sweetness of Splendid Academy by Nikki Loftin; A Middle Grade retelling of Hansel & Gretel? SIGN ME UP! I participated in an ARC tour for this novel and devoured (see what I did there!) it. Awesome, awesome book! 4.5 stars
Sneak (Swipe #2) by Evan Angler; Going into this book I hadn’t realized it was a sequel and, unfortunately, Swipe is not a series where the reader can jump in at any time. Most of the backstory was unknown to me (totally my fault), but the lack of catching up the reader as well as some confusing details/plot devices led to a fairly forgettable novel. 3 stars
The Lost Code (The Atlanteans) by Kevin Emerson; While the idea was interesting, its execution left something to be desired. Sadly this was a case where the characters’ age and voice are drastically different. I could easily believe they were 12/13 when they were actually supposed to be 17. 3 stars
The Waiting Sky by Lara Zielin; One of my top reads of 2012! This book has everything I normally avoid (contemporary YA, heavy issues), but I loved it. Also, the main characters are tornado chasers. 5 stars
Election by Dan Gutman; A short non-fiction book for kids that explains how the election process and Presidency works. 3.5 stars
Summer of the Mariposas by Guadalupe Garcia McCall; A Mexican retelling of The Odyssey! Five sisters discover a dead man floating in the river and set out to bring him back to his family. Along the way they battle witches, demons, and chupacabras. Gorgeous writing and wonderful characters made this a lovely read. 4 stars

Memes
Stacking the Shelves 8/5
Teaser Tuesday; I posted teasers from Summer of the Mariposas & The Lost Code
Waiting on Wednesday; omg Enshadowed! & Jon Ronson (author of The Psychopath Test is coming out with a new book!

Features
History 101; a new, original feature to the blog! Each post will highlight an interesting event or person in history and pair it with a book. In the premiere post I talked about America’s first serial killer, H. H. Holmes, and then recommended Devil in the White City.

Other
Mini-hiatus/I’m back!; My boyfriend & I took a short vacation to visit his friends and family in Baltimore. While there I revisited Edgar Allan Poe sites and on the way home we stopped by Gettysburg.
Tornadoes & Hurricanes & Lightning, oh my!; I couldn’t wait to get my hands on Spark, the highly anticipated sequel to Storm. In this post I recommended five other weather-related books!

One thought on “August in review

Leave a Reply

