Uncategorized

teaser tuesday 6/26

Teaser Tuesdays is one of my favorite memes ever. It’s hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading and anyone can play!

To participate, you share a few teaser sentences from the book you’re currently reading. Easy peasy!

My teaser this week comes from Mrs. Robinson’s Disgrace: The Private Diary of a Victorian Lady by Kate Summerscale. Fun fact about me: I LOVE non-fic. Loooove it. And this one has it all: scandal! intrigue! romance! big, foofy Victorian dresses! It’s awesome and I’m loving it.

In the loneliness of her marriage, ‘What was my resource?’ she asked. ‘What my consolation? Solitude & my pen. Here I lived in a world of my own, one that scarcely any one ever entered. I felt that in my study, at least, I was a ruler; & that all I wrote was my own.’

– pg. 183
Leave a Reply

