interview

book tour; cobbogoth (interview!)

I’m SO excited to share with all of you an interview I did with Hannah L. Clark, author of Cobbogoth! To read my review of this awesome book, click here!

Sum up Cobbogoth in five words.

Iceland, Harvard, Elementalists, Romance, Myth-chasers

If you could read a book again for the first time, which book would it be and why?

Hmmmm…that’s a tough one, but I think it would have to be between Harry Potter and The Hunger Games. I’m always jealous when I hear of someone reading either of those series for the first time.

Ahaha, I’m one of the five people on Earth who still hasn’t read The Hunger Games… :D Once I finally get off my butt and get around to reading it, I’ll be sure to give you a heads up & you can re-live it through me.

What books are currently on your nightstand?

Scriptures—I’m a very religious person—a book on the ancient Mayan, and a history book about the Vikings. Anything ancient, particularly ancient mythologies, fascinates me.

Which books/authors have influenced your writing?

Susan Cooper has been a huge influence, since reading her The Dark is Rising series when I was a kid is what made me want to be a writer in the first place; J.K. Rowling, because she revolutionized mainstream fantasy for kids and YA; and then, probably Elizabeth Marie Pope, JRR Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and most recently Suzanne Collins.

When did you first decide you wanted to become a writer?

I can’t remember a specific time when I decided to be a writer; I’m just one of those lucky people who has always known I wanted to be one. However, I do recall a moment with my mom, when I was super discouraged about my dyslexia and was seriously considering giving up all hope of ever becoming a writer. I was ten at the time, and my mom and I were having a rare “heart to heart” when I asked her if she thought I—with all of my spelling/reading issues—had any real chance at becoming a writer. I remember her looking at me seriously, and saying, “Hannah, you have one of the most unique imaginations I have ever come across. Whether or not you become a writer is up to you, but if you don’t, it would sure be a shame not to share your imagination with the world.”
After that conversation, I felt like I had a choice in the matter, and I never gave up on my dream. If my mom believed I could do it, then I knew I could, and so I did. :)

When you’re not writing, what do you enjoy doing?

I love, love, love being with my husband and son. I’m also a singer, and locking myself in my office and singing at the top of my lungs really de-stresses me. I love to watch movies and read books for inspiration and enjoyment. I’m also a runner, so I enjoy doing that every day and staying in shape. I love gardening. I also really love making other people happy. You know, helping them out when they need it. That brings me a lot of happiness and really puts things into perspective for me in my own life.

Cobbogoth is the first in a seven book series. Do you have plans for any other books? Are you currently working on anything else?

I do have a couple of other stories I want to write one day. One of them is a retelling of Little Red Riding Hood, but with a Viking/Mists of Avalon twist to it. I’m pretty deep in outlining for Book 2 in the Cobbogoth series right now though, so that probably won’t happen for a while.

What would you like readers to take away from Cobbogoth?

Well, more than anything, I want them to feel good and hopeful at the end of my book. I’m not a doom and gloomer/post-modern fan. I suppose I’d like them to come away with a better sense of what it means to really love someone, and how that changes your decisions. I think I’d also like them to have a better understanding of what it means to be courageous—that having courage doesn’t mean you’re not afraid, it just means you choose to do the right thing anyway.

Do you have a specific writing routine? Are there any particular snacks you need or music you have to listen to?

Yep. I have to write at night, unless I’m pulling an all-day writing session. When I sit down to write, it has to be for at least three hours, or I never seem to get anything done. As far as snacks, I used to eat a lot of sugar when I was writing, but I’ve since kicked the habit and just require several bottles of water be on hand.

You mention in your bio you’re dyslexic. As an author, how has dyslexia impacted your writing?

I think the biggest way dyslexia has impacted my writing, is that it’s made me appreciate being able to write well much more than I would otherwise. It has also taught me to work VERY hard, which is a must if you want to be a good writer. My dyslexia has also shown me that being a good writer isn’t something that people are magically born with, it is something that can be learned. No matter what challenges you have, if you’re willing to work long enough and hard enough at it, you can learn to be a good writer.
Finally, dyslexia has taught me a lot about overcoming fear. To this day, I still feel anxiety when I sit down to write, or when I pick up a book to read. However, because I refuse to let my dyslexia determine what I can and can’t do, I keep on pushing through that fear. Time after time, I find that I’m so glad I did.

Okay, could she possibly be more fantastic?? Hannah’s responses were so thorough (yay)! & double-yay for running! AND VIKINGS.

I absolutely cannot wait to see what she writes next!

2 thoughts on “book tour; cobbogoth (interview!)

  1. Thank you so much for hosting me on your blog Leah! It was great to have the chance to tell readers a little more about my book and my writing, and so awesome to read your review! Thank you, thank you!

Leave a Reply

