book tour · fantasy · mg

book tour; the rifts of rime

Title: The Rifts of Rime (Quickened Chronicles #1)
Author: Steven L. Peck
Pub. Date: June, 2012
Summary: “There is one thing, which might show some commitment on your part . . .”

“Name it!” The Thane relaxed again on his spear.

“Deliver the Tail, alive, here, alone, one week from tonight.” The Wolf sat back on the grass of the meadow.

“I will send him, but you must kill him yourself. Agreed?”

The Wolf licked her chops, “Agreed.”

In a world overtaken by greed and a ruthless, power-hungry dictator, Pinecone knows he’s no warrior. But when he’s entrusted with the sacred Scroll of Quickening, an ancient record that holds great power, Pinecone must summon the courage to protect the scroll. If he doesn’t, its secrets will be lost forever.

Meanwhile, Pinecone’s friend Leafe is mounting a makeshift rebellion to fend off the Thane whose evil might grows stronger every day. But her efforts may force her into some troubling alliances.

This thrilling story is full of suspense, surprises, and an epic struggle of good versus evil. Steven L. Peck brings to life a richly detailed fantasy world akin to Brian Jacques’s Redwall series. A truly magical adventure any reader is sure to get lost in.
Genre: MG

First, I’d like to give a huge thanks to Cedar Fort for allowing me to participate in this book tour. :) Thank you!!

When I first came across this book and saw it was likened to Redwall…oh man. I was all over it. As I was reading it however, I realized that the only similarity lies with talking animals as the cast. And that’s only a small portion of the characters in The Rifts of Rime. Only select species (wolf, squirrels, ants, etc) were chosen by the Wealdened to become Quickened. They were granted intelligence and the ability to speak and write, recite poetry and craft songs.

I wasn’t expecting this book to be quite as violent as it was, especially for a middle grade novel. Granted, there were plenty of deaths in Redwall, but I don’t remember anything quite as graphic as depicted in The Rifts of Rime.

The characters were wonderfully written and I loved the poems and songs. Unfortunately, despite the numerous action sequences, this book just didn’t work for me. I had wanted so badly to enjoy it, and in certain parts I did, but overall, it was a bit of a letdown. However, even though it wasn’t for me, I can easily see younger readers devoured this book.

Leave a Reply

