review; storm

Title: Storm (Elementals #1)
Author: Brigid Kemmerer
Pub. Date: April, 2012
Summary: Earth, Fire, Air, Water – they have more power than you dream.

Ever since her ex-boyfriend spread those lies about her, Becca Chandler is suddenly getting all the guys—all the ones she doesn’t want. Then she saves Chris Merrick from a beating in the school parking lot. Chris is different. Way different: he can control water—just like his brothers can control fire, wind, and earth. They’re powerful. Dangerous. Marked for death.

And now that she knows the truth, so is Becca.

Secrets are hard to keep when your life’s at stake. When Hunter, the mysterious new kid around school, turns up with a talent for being in the wrong place at the right time, Becca thinks she can trust him. But then Hunter goes head-to-head with Chris, and Becca wonders who’s hiding the most dangerous truth of all.

The storm is coming . . .
Rating:

When Becca Chandler saves a fellow classmate getting beat up in the parking lot after school one day, her only thought was to help him. Unfortunately, her simple act of kindness dragged her into a world she never knew existed: the world of Elementals, people who are able to control the elements. And the world of people trained to kill them.

Storm is a novel that seems to be taking the YA world by, well, storm. To be honest, I was so turned off by the cover (there’s something about it I find hideous and unprofessional), that I wasn’t even going to bother with it, despite all the praise it’s currently receiving.

A few days ago at work, I noticed we had a copy and curiosity got the better of me. It turned out Storm was exactly the book I hadn’t realized I wanted to read. These past few weeks I’ve been on a bad streak with books and had been looking for something, though I couldn’t put into words just what I was craving. Storm was just what I needed.

The first thing people discuss about Storm are the boys. The Merrick brothers (yes please!) are still trying to adjust to life after their parents’ death. The oldest, Michael, has taken on the role of parent while still trying to be a brother and he comes off as overbearing and overprotective. He cares about his brothers and knows that, unless he keeps them in line, he’ll lose custody.

Gabriel and Nick are twins and huge playboys. It’s not unusual for them to bring a different girl home every night. They’re gorgeous and they know it. Unfortunately, they also have a penchant to getting into fights.

Chris, the youngest, was adorable. Storm alternates between his POV and Becca’s and seeing things from his perspective allowed me to get to know him and discover his true feelings. I adored this boy and my heart broke for him so many times throughout the novel.

The last boy (and, because this is YA, other love interest) is Hunter. He’s a mysterious new student who doesn’t care about the rumors Becca’s ex has spread.

The pacing is blindingly fast – there honestly wasn’t a moment where I was bored – and the chapters are all extremely short, so reading it was a breeze. However, the book is not without its faults.

Becca’s ex-boyfriend Drew has been spreading rumors about Becca and by the end of the novel, I wasn’t sure who was really to blame. Becca was the one who got drunk at that party and she even admitted she wanted to make out with all of his friends. It wasn’t until she was nearly gang-raped that she wanted out. Now the whole school believes she’s slept with the entire soccer team and she has to put up with their daily tormenting.

I was completely taken back when she practically threw herself at Hunter the first night he stayed at her house. & the whole party with Drew? That was only a mere SIX WEEKS before! I had assumed it was the previous school year or at the very least a few months ago. But, no. Just a few weeks. And now here she is, throwing herself at a boy she’s only just met while trying to figure out whether or not she likes Chris.

Despite this huge annoyance, I really enjoyed the book. Yay for having a best friend (though by the end of the book I was a little fed up with Quinn) and I liked Becca’s mom. It was pretty obvious who the bad guy was, but overall I liked Storm.

Genre: YA, Paranormal

4 thoughts on “review; storm

  1. elena says:

    I was turned off by the cover too! Everyone says SUCH GOOD THINGS about this but I haven’t finished it yet, haha. I keep on feeling like if I only just read more, I’ll end up loving it like everyone else. I’m glad you ended up enjoying this book!

Leave a Reply

