movie review; the raven

Title: The Raven
Director: James McTeigue
Starring: John Cusack, Luke Evans, Alice Eve
Release Date: April, 27, 2012
Summary: When a madman begins committing horrific murders inspired by Edgar Allan Poe’s works, a young Baltimore detective joins forces with Poe to stop him from making his stories a reality.
Movie Rating: R
Runtime: 1 hour 51 minutes
Genre: Mystery
My Rating:

Anyone who knows anything about me is well aware of my admiration and love for Poe. When I first heard about this movie there was no question I’d be seeing it. Last night Matt & I went and…it sucked.

A good actor is one who leaves no doubt that they are the character/person they’re portraying. Unfortunately, John Cusack did no such thing. Instead, I felt like I was staring at Cusack playing dress-up for TWO HOURS. A sloppy goatee and incessant swearing while channeling Sherlock ≠ Poe. Thrown in a pet raccoon named Carl that eats human hearts while you’re at it.

On the drive home Matt and I discussed the movie and I spent nearly the entire time separating fact from fiction for him. Cusack did an astoundingly terrible job and it came as such a huge disappointment.

The premise sounded fantastic and I did enjoy the references (blatant and subtle) to Poe’s works, but ultimately the movie was a disaster.

2 thoughts on “movie review; the raven

  1. mom says:

    Aww, my poor sweetheart. How disappointing for you. We should go see Dark Shadows when it’s out, I just lol’d at the commercial for it. Mom

Leave a Reply

