shelf talkers

shelf talkers; i don’t know anything about this book but i want it!

Shelf Talkers is an original, semi-regular feature here at The Pretty Good Gatsby. Working in a used book store, I tend to here many odd & awesome things throughout the day and this feature is where I spotlight some of the best.

Today I want to talk about something that’s been on my mind a lot lately: desperately needing a book when you know absolutely nothing about it.

Since the massive burst in popularity of 50 Shades of Grey, I lost count of how many people come into where I work and ask if we have a copy. For the most part, these people know exactly what this book is about and what they’re getting into. However, there are a few that nearly faint when we tell them that, no we don’t have it, but if we did we’d keep it in the erotica section.

Yes, madam. Erotica.

A few months ago a woman came up to me one day and said she 1) didn’t know the author and 2) didn’t know what the book was about, but she NEEDED IT RIGHT NOW!!!

I’m no stranger to giving and receiving recommendations from friends, family members, even fellow bloggers, but I make sure I do my research before hunting down my own copy. I can’t imagine going into a store to blindly buy a book when I don’t know anything about it.

Am I the only one? lol tell me I’m not crazy.

One thought on “shelf talkers; i don’t know anything about this book but i want it!

  1. No, you’re not the only one. I think that’s weird too. I would never buy a book without first knowing what it’s about and second without knowing what reviewers have said about it, if it’s worth buying or not.

Leave a Reply

