Uncategorized

the new book

AAAHHHHH. More details have been announced for J.K. Rowling’s new book!! lol I actually came across the news on Amazon yesterday at work while trying to help a customer find a book and nearly freaked out. ♥!!

The Casual Vacancy
When Barry Fairweather dies unexpectedly in his early forties, the little town of Pagford is left in shock.

Seemingly an English idyll, with a cobbled market square and an ancient abbey, what lies behind the pretty façade is a town at war.

Rich at war with poor, teenagers at war with their parents, wives at war with their husbands, teachers at war with their pupils…Pagford is not what it first seems.

And the empty seat left by Barry on the parish council soon becomes the catalyst for the biggest war the town has yet seen. Who will triumph in an election fraught with passion, duplicity and unexpected revelations?

-taken from the new website(!!)

I don’t know about you guys, but come September 27, my greedy little fingers will be all over this book.

I know there are people who aren’t sure about an adult novel, they want more Harry, etc. Personally, I can’t wait to read this. I had heard rumors this book would be more of a crime novel and I’m ecstatic. :) Crime thriller is a genre I really enjoy, so this will be right up my alley.

5 thoughts on “the new book

  1. I can’t wait, too! I love Harry Potter. Honestly. These books are my favourite in the whole world. But I’m glad with the way they ended. They are just that amazing that I wouldn’t have wanted them just to go on because people wanted them to go on and because of the money. With the seventh book, the end of the story is told and I love how Jo Rowling said that there were going to be seven books and she finished the series after the seventh one.

    Still I have to say that I’m not totally sure about this novel. Don’t get me wrong, it sounds amazing and I can’t wait to read it, too. And I’m totally going to do this right on the 27th September as well. But my expectations are THAT high because of Harry and I’m just SO afraid I’m going to be disappointed with the new book. Still I hope for the best. And for the 27th September to come very soon. :)

    1. I feel exactly the same way. As much as I’d love to read 50 more books, everything wrapped up beautifully. Before it ended I had heard rumors that she was going to kill off all the characters so that another author wouldn’t continue the story.

      I think a lot of people have really high expectations for this one – myself included. I’m hoping it won’t be a letdown and that it’ll be every bit as amazing as HP.

  2. I wasn’t really sure what to think when I first read the synopsis. Do you think it’ll maybe be a paranormal book? Why else would the town be behaving so strangely, I wonder? So excited to read it anyways! Also: Jo announced that she would be going forward with the encyclopedia after all, which I am even more excited for!

Leave a Reply

