if you like that…try this!

:) Waking up three hours early to do some bloggy things, what’s this?? The other night I woke up around 3am with some new features in mind. …only to completely forget all about them when I woke up in the morning. HOWEVER!! I remembered them later that afternoon, and this one is one I’m really excited about!

If You Like That…Try This! is a new, original feature at The Pretty Good Gatsby. At work, I’m constantly recommending books/series/authors for customers and it only seems natural to do so here. The gist of it is that I’ll be posting a new author or series to try for fans of ______ (be it a certain genre, particular element in a story, or a specific author). So. Let’s get this show on the road and kick things off with one of my favorite authors!

If You Like That
  • Fairy tale retellings
  • Alternate history
  • Terry Pratchett
  • Carl Hiassen
  • Lemony Snicket
  • Quirky humor
  • Time travel
  • Christopher Moore
  • books about books
…Try This!
Jasper Fforde

I first became aware of Mr. Fforde about five years ago when I randomly stumbled upon (Isn’t that always how you find the best books?) his Nursery Crime series. Yes, you read that right: Nursery. Crime. The Big Over Easy, the first book, introduces us to Inspector Jack Spratt as he investigates the murder of Humpty Dumpty. The second book, The Fourth Bear, deals with…wait for it…a missing journalist named Goldy. & the escaped convict The Gingerbreadman.

I had started with The Fourth Bear and I wasn’t a fan initially. I thought it was “too weird.” At the time, my taste in books was COMPLETELY different than it is now, and when I picked it up for a second try, I fell in love.

There’s a third book, The Last Great Tortoise Race expected to come out in 2014 and I. Can’t. Wait.


Fforde’s Thursday Next series follows Thursday Next, a literary detective. ..where can I sign up for that job?? Thursday lives in modern-day England (or, rather, 1985), with a few…changes. For example, the Crimean War (which ended in 1865), is still going strong and dodos are still around (Thursday even has her own, Pickwick). There’s a Neanderthal Rights movement and literature is so huge, the police force has its own Jurisfiction.

In the first novel, The Eyre Affair, Jane Eyre is kidnapped. Throughout the whole Thursday Next series, major literary characters make appearances and I love it. A new Shakespeare play is discovered. Plot devices are sold on the black market. Thursday finds herself inside Poe’s The Raven. Yorrick has a burning ambition to become dictator and spouts anti-Danish remarks. Sherlock Holmes and Miss Marple find themselves in a rather perilous predicament.

:) It’s such a fun series and I highly recommend it. The seventh book, The Woman Who Died a Lot will be out in October! YAY.

Jasper Fforde isn’t just for the adults, you know! Kiddies will enjoy him too! His Last Dragonslayer series is MG and deals with magic! And dragons!

This one is a newer series, and at the moment there are only two books out. SO IT’LL BE EASY TO GET CAUGHT UP, GUYS. :D

Shades of Grey (not to be confused by that book~) is another new series and so far only the first book is out. Eddie Russet works for the Color Control Agency and he can only see red. Your social standing rests solely on what colors you can see. HOW COOL IS THAT. Any other color comes across as hues of grey.

The second book, Painting by Numbers will be out next year while the third book, Gordini Protocols has yet to have a release date.

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “if you like that…try this!

  1. talesofwhimsy says:

    I’ve been meaning to try him for ages. (the Eyre Affair)
    I just read a review for The Big Over Easy and it sounds so cute and clever.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s