TGIF & FF 4/6

SO not happy right now. Earlier I spent a good hour working on this post and WP decided to delete everything. :Db A+ job, wordpress!

Feature & Follow is a weekly meme hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read.

Each week the girls ask a question and it’s a really fun way to visit new blogs and gain followers!

This week’s question is:

Q: Have you ever bought a book BECAUSE of a bad review?

Bought, no. However, I have checked out quite a few books based on particularly snarky reviews.

One of the biggest perks of my job is that I get to borrow any book I’d like. After hearing such awful things about Alexandra Adornetto’s Halo series, I became curious and discovered we have a few copies of the first book. I wonder if it’s really as bad as people are saying…

TGIF is also a weekly meme hosted by Ginger at GReads.

Again, each Friday Ginger poses a question and it’s another great way to meet new bloggers.

This week she asks:

Book Series Finales: Which book, from any series has been your favorite ending? What about your least favorite ending?

I actually haven’t finished a series lately! I’ve been too busy starting new ones. And while horrible endings aren’t coming to mind at the moment, there are some wonderful finales that really stand out.

MONSTER, volume 18 by Naoki Urasawa.

♥ Hands down, my all-time FAVORITE manga series ever. I actually watched the anime first and was so happy upon discovering it had followed the manga religiously.

MONSTER is a dark, psychological story and I’m all about dark and psychological tales. This is a series I recommend to everyone looking to get into a new manga. The ending was absolutely perfect.

The Pinhoe Egg by Diana Wynne Jones.

The Chronicles of Chrestomanci is a series I first discovered when I was a child and it’s stuck with me ever since. I still remember the exact moment I came across it.

The version of the series I have is a set of paperbacks with two books in each volume. Pretty hefty novels (~600 each) for a child, but I tore through those books in no time. That series is absolutely magical and I’ve been dying to go back and reread them. I’m hoping I’ll be able to get the time to do so this summer.

The Rogue Crew by Brian Jacques.

Like with Chrestomanci, I clearly remember the moment I picked up my first Redwall book. It was Marlfox (yes, I read this series out of order!) and I had found it on display at one of my elementary school’s book fairs. I never looked back.

Years later, I still am hopelessly in love with Redwall Abbey and all of its inhabitants. :) This is without a doubt a series I cannot wait to pass down to my future children.

Redwall will forever hold a special place in my heart and when I heard that Brian Jacques had passed, I was devastated. It felt as though I had lost a family member. Rest in peace, Mr. Jacques, and know that there’s at least one girl whose world you’ve changed for the better.

10 thoughts on “TGIF & FF 4/6

  1. bengalreads says:

    I do the same thing, if I read a snarky/bad review I want to read the book to see what it is all about :D Thanks for dropping by my #FF post and following! Following via Linky!!!

  2. Jussy Who says:

    Yep me to, I’ve never bought a book because of a bad review. Also thanks for stopping by :) I’m following you by email.

  3. rachelcotterill says:

    Oh, the Redwall books were my absolute favourites growing up! :D

    Following from FF – it’s my first week taking part, so I’d love it if you would check out my FF post :)

Leave a Reply

