Uncategorized

teaser tuesday 4/3

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading.

In it, participants take their current read and share a sentence or two. Yay!

My teaser this week comes from Katherine Howe’s latest novel, The House of Velvet and Glass. It’ll be released next week (ha! for some strange reason I was convinced it was coming out in May..)

Sibyl’s mouth twitched, out of relief partly, but mostly out of guilt, for all that afternoon she had scarcely thought of Eulah. Eulah, who was worth the cost of the ticket to go on the tour. Eulah, who was sure to marry well. Eulah, who’d been pretty like Helen, not staid and Allstony like Sibyl. At times Sibyl worried that, in a black and tarry corner of her heart, she was relieved that Eulah had been the one chosen to go on the ocean liner, and not her. As soon as the uninvited thought began to form, Sibyl rejected it as impossible. She loved her sister. Everyone loved her sister. She was young, she was vibrant, she was glamorous and unconventional, she…

I’m barely 100 pages into it, but I absolutely LOVE this book. So fantastic. & with the anniversary of the Titanic coming up, this is the perfect read.

2 thoughts on “teaser tuesday 4/3

  1. Oooh! I just gave my copy to my mother since I don’t think I’ll have time to read it any time soon. Darn. Well, I still don’t have time now, but at least now I know I should definitely ask for it back when she’s finished! Looking forward to your review :)

Leave a Reply

