1 star · paranormal · ya

review; the ghost and the goth (dnf)

Title: The Ghost and the Goth (The Ghost and the Goth #1)
Author: Stacey Kade
Pub. Date: June, 2010
Summary: After a close encounter with a bus, Alona Dare goes from homecoming queen to Queen of the Dead. She’s stuck as a ghost in the land of the living with no sign of the big, bright light to take her to a better place. To make matters worse, the only person who might be able to help her is Will Killian, a total loser outcast.

More than anything, Will wishes he didn’t have the rare ability to communicate with the dead, especially the former mean girl of Groundsboro High. He’s not filling out any volunteer forms to help her cross to the other side, though it would bring him some welcome peace and quiet.
Genre: YA, Paranormal
Rating:

I feel like I missed something everyone else didn’t. One of my biggest guilty pleasure is the preppy girl/goth boy trope (Nevermore, I’m looking at you ♥!). The Ghost and the Goth had been sitting in my To Read pile for ages and I finally had had enough. I was so certain I would love it: it seemed fun and fluffy & I was really surprised by the length!

Unfortunately, I didn’t even finish the book. The main character, Alona Dare, irked me instantly. From the very first page I couldn’t stand that girl. In the beginning of the book she rambled on and on about how being popular was so important and how it was something she’d been working on attaining (and maintaining) her entire schooling career. Quite frankly, I was happy she was run over by a bus.

Apart from Alona, the other problem I had with the novel was the alternating perspectives. I’ve read some books (The Forgotten Garden, for example) that executed dual narratives flawlessly. The Ghost and the Goth, however, didn’t work for me. When the book switched to Will’s POV for the first time, I was actually a little confused. I hadn’t realized the story was now taking place from Will’s perspective.

This book has garnered some really wonderful reviews and I’m pretty disappointed I couldn’t join in with the praise.

One thought on “review; the ghost and the goth (dnf)

Leave a Reply

