Uncategorized

monday memes 2/27

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

Right now I’m reading Erebos by Ursula Poznanski.

An intelligent computer game with a disturbing agenda.

When 16-year-old Nick receives a package containing the mysterious computer game Erebos, he wonders if it will explain the behavior of his classmates, who have been secretive lately. Players of the game must obey strict rules: always play alone, never talk about the game, and never tell anyone your nickname.

Curious, Nick joins the game and quickly becomes addicted. But Erebos knows a lot about the players and begins to manipulate their lives. When it sends Nick on a deadly assignment, he refuses and is banished from the game.

Now unable to play, Nick turns to a friend for help in finding out who controls the game. The two set off on a dangerous mission in which the border between reality and the virtual world begins to blur.

YA with a male protagonist! WOOHOO!! This book was originally released in Germany a few years ago and the English version just came out last month. :) So far I’m really enjoying it!

Musing Mondays is hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading. This week she asks:

• Do you read books that are part of a series?
• Do you collect all the books in the series before starting? What if the series is brand new, and the only book that’s been published so far is Book one? As subsequent books in the series are published, do you go back and re-read the preceding books?

I absolutely read series! Love them, in fact! When I was younger I would get an entire series before reading one page; the wait in between books (whether I had to wait to buy them or wait for them to be published) was awful. I finally stopped that after spending way too much money on series I wound up not enjoying after the first book.

These days I don’t worry too much about the wait time. More often that not, if I desperately need to read the next book that bad I can easily find it either at work or for my Nook. And if it hasn’t been published yet (Enshadowed, I’m looking at you!), well… I’ve got a mound of ARCs and other books to keep me occupied until then.

6 thoughts on “monday memes 2/27

  1. This is the first time I’ve heard of Erebos and it looks so good! I like reading series too, but I definitely pick the ones I’m going to read – and I hate cliffhangers – each book should be able to stand alone in my opinion :-)

Leave a Reply

