Uncategorized

it’s monday! what are you reading? 2/20

It’s Monday! What are You Reading? is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

To find out more and participate, click here!

Prior to blogging, I would read multiple books at a time. To be honest, there are occasional moments when I still do this, but I’ve found it’s easily for me when it comes to writing reviews if I’m only focused on one book’s plot/characters at a time.

The book I’m reading this week is one that I’ve been dying to get my hands on: The Last Romanov!!

Taking readers deep into tarnished grandeur, The Last Romanov follows Darya, a wise old beauty whose time spent with the Imperial family has haunted her entire life. When the murderous events unfold, Darya is plagued by the prophecy made by the Empress’s advisor, Rasputin. She must find the missing Tsarevich Alexis Romanov and restore the monarchy or risk losing her own life.

I’m still pretty early on in it (~50 pages), but it’s incredible and I’m loving the characters (& YAY NICKY/ALIX!! ♥).

It’s a bit different than what I was expecting though! There seems to be some magical/mystical elements that originally surprised me, but I’m loving everything about this book.

20 thoughts on “it’s monday! what are you reading? 2/20

  1. Oooh this sounds like an interesting story. :) I’m guessing the whole magical/mystical aspect involves Rasputin. ;) I’m glad to hear that you’re loving it, and I’m going to have to look into reading it because it sounds really good! :D

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my Monday post. :)

    Happy Reading!
    Ambur

    1. HA! I wouldn’t doubt it, although so far Rasputin is nowhere to be seen (& actually isn’t even in the picture at all; right now the story takes place well before he came into the Romanovs’ lives). Oddly enough, it was the main character I was talking about. She has a unique eye. It’s constantly being referred to; some characters are intimidated by it, others feel as though this means she has a special gift.

  2. I don’t like to read multiple books at once anymore either. I usually have one regular book, and one nightstand book, but there’s just one of each. I just prefer to get through one book before devoting attention to another.

    The Last Romanov sounds pretty good, I added it to my TBR list!

Leave a Reply

