Uncategorized

imm 2/19

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren to showcase that books you received/bought/borrowed during the week.

The Last Romanov by Dora Levy Mossanen. (Thank you Sourcebooks!!)

Taking readers deep into tarnished grandeur, The Last Romanov follows Darya, a wise old beauty whose time spent with the Imperial family has haunted her entire life. When the murderous events unfold, Darya is plagued by the prophecy made by the Empress’s advisor, Rasputin. She must find the missing Tsarevich Alexis Romanov and restore the monarchy or risk losing her own life.

GUYS. Remember when I flailed over this book in my WoW post earlier this week? kfdlskglds!!!! I finally finished Ragnarok last night (review here!) and I cannot wait to dive into this one.

The House of Velvet and Glass by Katherine Howe. (Thank you Hyperion!!)

Still reeling from the deaths of her mother and sister on the Titanic, Sibyl Allston is living a life of quiet desperation with her taciturn father and scandal-plagued brother in an elegant town house in Boston’s Back Bay. Trapped in a world over which she has no control, Sibyl flees for solace to the parlor of a table-turning medium.

But when her brother is suddenly kicked out of Harvard under mysterious circumstances and falls under the sway of a strange young woman, Sibyl turns for help to psychology professor Benton Derby, despite the unspoken tensions of their shared past. As Benton and Sibyl work together to solve a harrowing mystery, their long-simmering spark flares to life, and they realize that there may be something even more magical between them than a medium’s scrying glass.

The author is The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane is back! This came as a complete shock to me and a perfect way to begin my morning! I’m sick and feeling crappy and I had to be up early to work yesterday when I discovered a package waiting for me. :) Definitely made me feel better.

16 thoughts on “imm 2/19

  1. Whoa, these books sound FAB!! I’m a nerd for Romanovs, so The Last Romanov sounds fantastic. But I also loved The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane, so I’m excited that the author has something new coming out that sounds just a good!

Leave a Reply

