review; in session (dnf)

Title: In Session
Author: M.J. Rose
Pub. Date: October, 2001
Summary: As a therapist specializing in sexual issues, psychiatrist Dr. Morgan Snow isn’t easily shocked, or shaken, as readers of the popular “Butterfield Institute” novels know. There are times, however, when the need for her services leads her out of the office… and into unfamiliar worlds.

In these stories the therapist matches her wits -and her training – against three men of mystery: Jack Reacher, John Rain, and Cotton Malone.

Those characters are, of course, familiar to readers as the creations, respectively, of NYT bestselling authors Lee Child, Barry Eisler, and Steve Berry. All three swore that their characters would never agree to therapy – unless Rose found a way to get then there. And she did.
Genre: FanFiction
Rating:

I love me some Cotton Malone, so when I happened upon this e-book featuring not only Malone, but multiple other well-known characters, I immediately jumped at the chance to read it.

Ms. Rose has been on my radar for a while, but until I received this title I hadn’t yet read any of her work. Going into the book, I kept an open mind despite my feelings that this basically amounts to fanfiction.

In Session is a short work comprised of even shorter stories. The main character, Dr. Morgan Snow, is the star of Ms. Rose’s Butterfield Institute series. She’s a sex therapist and while that didn’t set off any alarms in my head, I was a bit worried to see how In Session would play out. Digging down deep into the minds of these men would be a fantastic read; raunchy sex scenes would not.

The first story in the book was coincidentally the one that made me want to read it in the first place: Extenuating Circumstances. Cotton Malone. I adore Steve Berry and his Cotton Malone series is among my favorites. Cotton owns a small bookshop in Copenhagen and it is there that the story is set. In an attempt to get Malone to talk to a therapist, a plan is hatched, ultimately leaving the story devoid of customers. A rare, erotic novel gets the ball rolling and, in the end, this story was the one I enjoyed the most (although I’m wondering if that wasn’t because I’m already a fan of Malone’s).

The second story, Decisions, Decisions lost me halfway through and it was there I walked away. John Rain is the patient in this story and from what I understand, he’s an assassin? Unfortunately, I was unable to work up enough interest to keep going.

I had hoped for a quick, fun read, but was ultimately let down and bored.

Leave a Reply

