Uncategorized

Monday Musings 1/2

Happy New Year!!

Monday Musings is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading. This week’s musing is:

What is/are the first book(s) you’re reading for the new year?

Divergent! OMG YOU GUYS. I’m finally reading this after hearing its praises for the past year. So far I’m only 100-ish pages into it but already I can tell my review will be lukewarm at best…

In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.
During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles to determine who her friends really are—and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes infuriating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers a growing conflict that threatens to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves… or it might destroy her.

What’s your first book of the year??

13 thoughts on “Monday Musings 1/2

  1. You’ve sort of bummed me out. Lukewarm? I saw the second novel on MizB’s Friday Finds and thought it looked so interesting. Maybe it will get better?

    1. Sorry! Keep in mind I’ve really only just started it (the book is, what, just under 500 pages??). Definitely enough time for me to change my mind. I suppose it’s been so hyped up for me that I went in expecting this super awesome it-will-change-your-life novel.

      1. 500? I didn’t expect it to be that long. Yeah, there’s definitely time for it to change. It really gets to me when something (not just a book) gets over-hyped. Even if it’s really good, I often end up feeling a little let down. Sometimes I do it myself! :D

  2. This is also on my TBR list!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Don’t be intimidated by the Wheel of Time series. It’s a lot of books but it’s SO worth it. Just take it one book at a time. ;-)

    1. I hope you enjoy it! (Also, yay! So I’m not the only one who hasn’t read it! :D)

      I work in a bookstore, so the entire series is easily accessible. I really have no excuses for not reading them. They definitely seem like something I’d be into.

  3. Did she make the faction choice yet? For me, after that choice is made, that was the turning point from Lukewarm to Supernova awesomeness. Happy reading!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    1. :D You’re welcome! (& sorry for my late reply!)

      Unfortunately, it didn’t, which was really disappointing. I had heard such good things about it!

  4. I’m looking forward to reading this one! I haven’t read it either but I know how much everyone loved it so I’m sure it’s going to be interesting. :)
    Great pick and thanks for stopping by my post yesterday!
    xxx

Leave a Reply

