Uncategorized

TGIF & Follow Friday 12/16

TGIF is a weekly meme hosted by Ginger at Greads.

This week’s question is:

Most Popular: What blog post has gotten the most
comments/activity on your blog this year?

So Says the Whale has only been around for a few months, so any ~most popular~ post pales in comparison to the more established blogs out there. However, there were two posts in particular that had more activity than the others.

My recent review of Nevermore by Kelly Creagh & a Top Ten Tuesday. This TTT also saw a fair amount of views, despite the lack of comments.

It’s been a while since I’ve participated in a Follow Friday! Follow Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Parajunkee & Alison Can Read.

This week’s question is:

When you’ve read a book, what do you do with it? (Keep it, give it away, donate it, sell it, swap it..?)

That depends. If it’s mine, I keep it. I really don’t trade or give books away. If it’s a book I really loved, I’ll probably force it upon someone and have them read it, but apart from that, it stays with me.

I’ve mentioned a few times that I work at a bookstore & one of the awesome perks of my job is that we can borrow any book we’d like. Obviously I’d return the book once I’m finished (unless, of course, I liked it enough to buy it).

About a year ago I bought a Nook Color (♥!!), so a good number of books I read are ebooks. ..not much to do with those once I’m finished.

22 thoughts on “TGIF & Follow Friday 12/16

    1. I adore my Nook! :) It’s always by my side/in my purse/on my desk. I’d love to have all my e-books in physical form, though.

  1. Ack, you’re so lucky you work at a bookstore! I would absolutely love to, although that’s where all my money would go. I really like how your blog looks too, I’m such a big fan of minimalism. :)

    1. haha!! Another perk of working at HPB: the books are already ridiculous cheap, but employees get a 50% discount on top of it. …I think I’ve bought more books since working there than I have my entire life.

      Me too! I love nice, simply designs. I’ve seen some blogs that had blinking graphics, slideshows, the whole works. :/ I think it makes things look so cluttered.

  2. I had an in depth ethical discussion with someone once if it was immoral to buy a book from a store, read it, and then return it. I said it wasn’t (obviously your situation is different). WHat do you think?

    New follower.

    1. Apart from being a bookseller, I’m also a book buyer. My store is interesting – we buy books from the public. Prior to starting the job, I would have been shocked at someone who bought a book, read it, then returned it. However, now I hardly think twice when someone sells us books they had bought from us.

      I suppose selling them back is a little different than returning them.. I don’t feel it’s immoral, though I don’t see the point. If the person didn’t like the book perhaps, but to get the whole way through? I feel that if you’re going to spend the money on a book (and depending on which store you go to that amount can be quite a bit), why return it? That’s what libraries are for.

  3. I usually keep any books that come my way as well. It’s wonderful but it can also be very bad, especially when you begin to run out of room. Once I start looking to buy my own home, a must-have is an extra room that I will turn into my own library. Hopefully then I’ll have as much space as I’d like. :P

    1. lol, oh man, it’s a wonder I haven’t gotten into trouble yet. Sometimes a book or a title catches my eye and before I know it, five minutes have passed.

Leave a Reply

