Uncategorized

It’s Monday! 12/05

It’s Monday! What are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted at BookJourney.

I recently started Nevermore by Kelly Creagh. Anyone who knows me knows my adoration of Edgar Allan Poe knows no bounds. Any song/movie/book/what have you that so much as makes a passing reference to him is something I need in my life. This series is no different. At first I was a bit hesitant – mainly due to that atrocious cover – but I’m really enjoying it so far!

Cheerleader Isobel Lanley is horrified when she is paired with Varen Nethers for an English project, which is due—so unfair—on the day of the rival game. Cold and aloof, sardonic and sharp-tongued, Varen makes it clear he’d rather not have anything to do with her either. But when Isobel discovers strange writing in his journal, she can’t help but give this enigmatic boy with the piercing eyes another look.

Soon, Isobel finds herself making excuses to be with Varen. Steadily pulled away from her friends and her possessive boyfriend, Isobel ventures deeper and deeper into the dream world Varen has created through the pages of his notebook, a realm where the terrifying stories of Edgar Allan Poe come to life.

As her world begins to unravel around her, Isobel discovers that dreams, like words, hold more power than she ever imagined, and that the most frightening realities are those of the mind. Now she must find a way to reach Varen before he is consumed by the shadows of his own nightmares.

His life depends on it.

-taken from goodreads

Musing Mondays is also a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading. This week’s question:

How many books do you read in a week? Month? Year?

This is a little difficult for me to answer. On average, I do at least 52 a year (every year I make that my goal). Weekly and monthly though… it definitely varies. In November, for example, I only read one or two. I place a lot of blame on NaNoWriMo for that. Other months I have read much more.

Weekly, I couldn’t say. Again, it varies. Some books I can get through in an afternoon & get through three in a week, while other weeks I’ll spend the full seven days (if not more) on the same book.

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! 12/05

    1. Oh, absolutely. Jobs & school can definitely get in the way of someone’s reading. Not to mention some weeks are simply busier than others.

  1. Hmm you are right about that cover! My book total so far for the year is 228 – a bit less than I had hoped for honestly.
    Have a great reading week

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

Leave a Reply

