Uncategorized

Top Ten Tuesday 11/29

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

Each week we will post a new Top Ten list that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join. All we ask is that you link back to The Broke and the Bookish on your own Top Ten Tuesday post AND add your name to the Linky widget so that everyone can check out other bloggers lists! If you don’t have a blog, just post your answers as a comment. Have fun with it! It’s a fun way to get to know your fellow bloggers.

This week’s Top 10 is Top Ten TBR Books for Winter.

Oh man. My TBR list on goodreads is currently a hefty 692. So, yeah… I highly doubt I’ll be getting through all of those this winter. Instead I’ll choose a few I’m really looking forward to reading.

1. The Golden Compass (His Dark Materials #1) by Philip Pullman.
Matt has been trying to get me to read this series for a while; he absolutely loves these books whereas I’ve never read them. I’m beginning to feel as though this is one of those quintessential series every child should read, yet here I am. I’m hoping to change that this winter.

2. Jasper Fforde.
I’ve been known to sing his praises a time or two and this winter I’d really like to get caught up on some of his series. I’m still eagerly awaiting a new Nursery Crime book (I really enjoyed the first two), and I need to read the third book in his Thursday Next series, The Well of Lost Plots. He also started a new series called Shades of Grey that I need to read as well as both books in his Last Dragonslayer series.

3. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline.
This book has been making the rounds lately and it’s been getting a lot of really great reviews. It sounds like something I’d enjoy.

4. 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami.
I’ve never read Murakami before!

5. 11/22/63 by Stephen King.
From the moment I first heard about this book I wanted to read it. I only recently started reading Stephen King – last year I picked up my first book of his. He’s a bit hit-or-miss for me (I adored The Shining, but the book I read after that, The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon was excruciating. I had to force myself to get through it.) but this one sounds fantastic, so hopefully it won’t disappoint.

6. Doom With a View (Psychic Eye Mystery #7) by Victoria Laurie.
♥ love, love, love. I like this series so much, but I had put it on hold for a while because there were so many other books I needed to read. I can’t wait to get back to this series.

7. The Case of the Left-Handed Lady (Enola Holmes Mysteries #2) by Nancy Springer.
A few months ago I read the first book in this series and fell in love. I don’t read many Middle Grade/YA books, but this one sounded so interesting – Sherlock Holmes’s little sister is the main character! – that I couldn’t resist. The first one was great and I’m sure this one will be too.

8. Reamde by Neal Stephenson.
I’m really not sure about this one. Forget King, Neal Stephenson is definitely hit-or-miss. I hated Snow Crash. HATED it. It took me a year to get to page 100 and then I decided I had had enough. There are only two books I have never been able to finish and that was one of them. However, Cryptonomicon is one of my all-time favorite books. It weighs about as much as me, yet I tore through it in record time.

9. The President’s Vampire (Nathaniel Cade #2) by Christopher Farnsworth.
I came across the first book and the premise sounded so ridiculous I needed to read it. A vampire has been the President of the United States’s sworn protector for nearly 150 years. Surprisingly, I enjoyed it! So silly, but I liked it a lot and I can’t wait to read the second book.

10. The Paris Vendetta (Cotton Malone #5) & The Emperor’s Tomb (Cotton Malone #6) by Steve Berry.
I looove Steve Berry. Love him. Whenever I’m looking for a good book to curl up with on a rainy day, I immediately grab one of his. I can reread them over & over again. It’s been a while since I’ve read one of his Cotton Malone books and, quite frankly, I miss the guy. I’ve read this series out of order for some reason, and these two are ones I need to read.

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday 11/29

    1. I haven’t seen the movie either, so this will be a completely new experience for me; I have no idea what the book is about. However, my boyfriend loves the series & it seems like a lot of other people love it as well, so I have high hopes!

  1. Whoa! Glad someone hasn’t read The Golden Compass as well. These all sound like interesting books! Hope you have fun during the winter! New follower!

    1. :D Thank you!!

      I think that’ll be the first book to tackle. I keep hearing great things, so I’m looking forward to it.

  2. I’d like to tackle 1Q84 sometime in the new year, maybe when it comes out in paperback? I read Norwegian Wood a couple of months ago and loved it. I’ve also heard excellent things about 11/22/63 – I might have to track down a copy of that one for my bookshelf, too.

    1. Enjoy!!

      I’m really excited about reading 11/22/63. However, the sheer size of it has been keeping it on hold.

Leave a Reply

