television

oh hello.

Long time, no see! Things have been a bit quiet here this month, mostly due to NaNoWriMo & real life, but I’m hoping to get back into the swing of things shortly. There are a few things I have planned that I’m really excited about: a new, joint-review series with my boyfriend and some music-related ideas to name a few. Before starting this blog, I had run one of the largest music communities at livejournal. Unfortunately I shut it down two years ago, but if it was still up & running, it would be six years old! I loved writing music reviews & getting my favorite artists and songs out there for others to hear. A part of me always regretted backing away and I’ve been considering jumping back into it! This blog would still be devoted to book reviews, but I’d love to share mixes or FSTs (fan soundtracks). So! Something to look forward to.

I’ve never been big on television. There are shows I enjoy, but I never really was the type of person who would sit down every week to catch a new episode. However, this week Matt & I marathoned some new shows and they are incredible!

I had been so excited about Hell On Wheels since I first heard of it. It finally premiered a few weeks ago and it definitely lived up to expectations. I firmly believe AMC can do no wrong. I’ve stated numerous times I’m extremely interested in the Civil War. I knew this show would be right up my alley and it’s just amazing. So, so good.

Set in the 1860s it centers on former confederate soldier Cullen Bohannan, whose quest for vengeance has led him to the Union Pacific Railroad’s westward construction of the first Transcontinental Railroad.

Grimm looked super cool and we knew we had to watch it. That night we stayed up until 5am because we were so into it. Just one more episode. But we wound up watching everything out so far. I’d love to find out where this series is being filmed. It’s absolutely gorgeous.

Set in present-day Portland, Oregon, the series puts a new twist on the stories of the Brothers Grimm in which a homicide detective learns that he is a descendent of a group of hunters known as “Grimms”, who fight to keep humanity safe from the supernatural creatures of the world. Upon learning of his destiny, he has to protect every living soul from the sinister storybook characters that have infiltrated the real world.

Various family members have told me on separate occasions they’re really loving Once Upon a Time. It had seemed interesting, but I never bothered to watch it. After watching Grimm I felt even less inclined to give it a try – the two seemed too similar to me. In the end we gave it a try and, once again, became completely sucked in.

Henry locates his birth mother, whom he believes can save Storybrooke, which is a town of fairy tale characters that do not remember their lives in the fairy tale parallel world.

Leave a Reply

