Uncategorized

Top Ten Tuesday! 10/18

Top 10 Tuesday Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Each week there is a new topic & all future topics can be seen here!

This week’s Top Ten deals with book covers & titles. I think it coincides nicely with yesterday’s Monday Musings post on judging books by their covers.

Top Ten Books That Whose Titles Or Covers Made Me Buy It


Raising Stony Mayhall. I discovered this one at work one day. The cover isn’t elaborate or “beautiful,” yet something about it really struck me. The blurriness of the character I think.


Don’t Breathe a Word Another book I discovered at work. The plot was so deliciously creepy and the cover worked perfectly. I’m normally not a fan of models/real people on book covers, but this worked. So, so good.


The Sisters Brothers The second I saw the cover I immediately fell in love. Unfortunately, the book didn’t quite hold up to my expectations.


Misfortune LOOK AT THAT COVER! Awesome, right?? The book sucked. I don’t became angry at books, but that one developed such a rage within me. I hated it. Hated it.


A Fraction of the Whole One of my favorite books ever. Love, love, love. & those little blue dots are actually holes! So cool!


Darkmans Another favorite book. I don’t like the other covers for this one at all, so I’m extremely glad this was the one I stumbled upon. I know I definitely wouldn’t have given the others a second thought, which is sad since this is such an amazing novel.


Shade Despite having bought this one years ago I still haven’t read it. The cover was so pretty though that I needed to have it.


Sisters Red This one has been making the rounds lately; everyone seems to be talking about it. That cover is simply stunning.


Daisy Buchanan’s Daughter It wasn’t the cover that did it for me, it was the title. I worship and adore Gatsby with every fiber of my being.


Mr. Rosenblum’s List: Or Friendly Guidance for the Aspiring Englishman Fantastic title.

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! 10/18

  1. There’s something slightly creepy about Raising Stony Mayhall, isn’t there? I would definitely have picked it up too.

    I love The Sisters Brothers cover too, but didn’t include it because I got it for the story. I did enjoy it too.

    I couldn’t finish A Fraction of the Whole, I got halfway and couldn’t go any further.

    I don’t think I’ve ever come across Darkmans before, unless it has a different cover here, but it doesn’t sound familiar. It’s good though?

    1. Raising Stony Mayhall was phenomenal. It’s a zombie story – something I typically don’t go for. Knowing the main character is a Living Dead makes the cover all the more wonderful.

      I had extremely high hopes for The Sisters Brothers and, sadly, the book just didn’t live up to my expectations. It wasn’t bad at all, but not as great as I had anticipated.

      Oh no! A Fraction of the Whole is one of my all-time favorites. It’s been a while since I’ve read it, but on that first read I tore through it in a matter of days (highly unusual for me with a book of that size).

      According to goodreads, Darkmans has two other covers.

      1. Ah, yes, I have seen Darkmans! I picked it up one time – the one with the jester on the cover – and was tempted but felt daunted by the sheer size of it, and I hadn’t heard anything about it. It’s funny, I used to avoid skinny books in favour of fat ones, but I guess things change eh? I still love fat books but I find them harder to read, something to do with my attention span diminishing…

        Forgot to say, I picked up Don’t Breathe a Word too, partly because I wanted to read it but also because when I saw the cover, those eyes really grabbed me. They’re kinda spooky, and pleading, and very clear. Hard to get them out of your head! (Big eyes in an elfin face, that works!)

  2. Years ago, I felt that if I was going to spend $30 on a book, I’d want it to be worth the cost, therefore, huge. I was under the impression that a 200-300 page book was definitely not getting my money’s worth.

    Ooh, isn’t that girl perfect? Looking at her (& those eyes!) I see the Queen of the Fairies.

    1. $30 for a book? Ha, you wouldn’t happen to be Australian, would you? :)

      I was exactly the same, as a student I had no money so I didn’t want to get skinny books when for the same amount I could get a fat one. It probably helped that I read mostly fantasy and they were always very lengthy!

Leave a Reply

