Uncategorized

Monday Musings 10/17

Monday Musings is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading.

This week she asks:

Do you judge a book by its cover?

Ah, the cardinal sin of reading. I do it. Should I feel guilty or ashamed?

I’ve a very visual person. Pretty, shiny things instantly capture my interest. A good portion of my favorite books began by me noticing the cover. I’m far more inclined to pick up a book with a pretty/interesting/unique cover than one with a drab cover.

When it comes to ebooks, I will always change the cover if a better one exists. & when purchasing books, I will gladly shell out a little extra if it has a better cover.

6 thoughts on “Monday Musings 10/17

    1. Interesting titles can lure me in as well. However, if the book doesn’t have an intriguing plot I won’t read it.

  1. Thank you for stopping by my blog and commenting. You are right. Visualizing a character is always a tricky thing. I like to have some idea of what they look like, but using a specific model can be too definitive. Or when a movie version comes along an actor takes on the face of a character – for good or bad.

    1. You’re very welcome! I love being able to visualize the characters on my own, but the worst part about having models (or even illustrations of the characters) on the cover is that there have been times when they simply just weren’t right. There’s a series I love and the covers all feature a drawing of the main character. On the covers, her hair is always depicted as shoulder-length, yet in the book, it’s consistently described as long enough that it reaches her butt.

      Oddly enough, movie tie-ins don’t bother me. When I’m buying a book, I will always opt for the “original” cover, but in general, I don’t mind seeing them. I work in a bookshop and the movie versions of Water for Elephants & The Help will outsell their original counterparts any day.

  2. I tried not to you know, but covers sure sell books. Then again, if I see a book and I don’t like the cover and I keep reading good things about it and seeing it everywhere, that gets me to really read the summary and then if I like it, I’ll add it to my wishlist. Then I’ll decide if I’ll buy it. But yeah, covers are the first thing that you notice in a book and it does influence the sells of it. At least that’s what I think.

    I wanted to pass by your blog to thank you for commenting on my Lola review on my blog. So, yeah. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

