Uncategorized

Book Blogger Hop 10/2

A little late to the party, but here we are! Book Blogger Hop is a weekly meme hosted at Crazy For Books!

This week’s question is:

In honor of Banned Books Week, what is your favorite “banned or frequently challenged book”?”
Click here for 2010-11 list in PDF format. You can also click HERE to view past years and choose from any of those titles!

I haven’t read a single one of the books on this year’s challenged/banned list! Not even Slaughterhouse-Five, though I do love me some Vonnegut.

I guess the reason I’m not too familiar with Banned/Challenged books is that the majority of them are YA/children’s books…which are genres I typically avoid. & a good number of the classics are books never assigned to me in school.

That said, my favorite would have to be To Kill a Mockingbird. I refuse to believe there could be a better literary figure than Atticus Finch. This might or might not have contributed to a slight obsession with Gregory Peck.

Also, The Great Gatsby. Flawless. Perfect. Brilliant. Extraordinary. I could go on and on. I. Love. That. Book.

Other favorites include Harry Potter, East of Eden, A Farewell to Arms, & The Lord of the Flies.

Leave a Reply

