Uncategorized

Follow Friday! and TGIF! 9/30


Follow Friday is a weekly blog hop meme hosted by Parajunkee & Alison Can Read.

This week’s question:

What book that hasn’t been turned into a movie (yet) would you most like to see make it to the big screen, and who would you like cast as your favorite character?

Oh man. What a tough question! Yesterday I posted a review of an amazing, book, Raising Stony Mayhall. It’s about zombies, but it’s more of a family drama than a gorefest. Unfortunately, I can easily picture Hollywood completely revamping it and turning it into a blood & guts flick.

A series I adore, Victoria Laurie’s Psychic Eye Mystery series, would work far better as a sitcom than a movie..

I’m still holding out hope for either a Good Omens (it seems like this has been in development limbo forever) &/or an American Gods movie!

TGIF is a weekly meme hosted by Greads! This week’s question is:

Banned Books: How do you feel about the censorship of the freedom to read? Do you think the education system needs to be more strict on what children are exposed to in books?

I could go on for days about this. My immediately response would be to hail censorship & banning as unconstitutional, it’s wrong, how dare you, etc. But in actuality, I can understand it. Granted, I find some reasons for banning/challenging absolutely ludicrous, but there are some that are at least somewhat reasonable.

Ultimately I feel it’s up to the child’s parents to decide what he or she can read. Some children simply aren’t mentally/emotionally mature enough to handle certain issues and what’s suitable or not should be left to the parents’ discretion.

6 thoughts on “Follow Friday! and TGIF! 9/30

    1. I posted a review of Raising Stony Mayhall a few days ago. I really don’t read zombie books, but that one was fantastic. & not your stereotypical zombie book either, which was awesome. The Psychic Eye Mystery series is fun and cute and super easy to read/get into!

    1. I was running pretty late for work, otherwise I would have actually replied with a decent, well-thought out answer!

      haha! I don’t read them! But I came across that one at work (I work in a bookshop) and something about the cover drew me in.

    1. :) Following back!

      He’s so, so amazing!! In college, my roommate forced me to watch Stardust (which is the only book of his I’m not madly in love with). I was pretty reluctant, but wound up loving it. I’ll definitely need to revisit the book sometime.

Leave a Reply

