Uncategorized

Top Ten Tuesday! 9/27

Top 10 Tuesday Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s list is Top Ten Books I Want to Reread!

It wasn’t until just a few years ago that I discovered just how uncommon it is for people to reread books. I honestly had always assumed it was the opposite; I know I certainly love revisiting favorites. When I found out that many people don’t – or won’t – my mind was blown. One of my favorite aspects of rereading books is finding new things I hadn’t noticed before.

Since this is a top 10 list, I’ve kept it to ten books/series, although I could seriously go on and on.

The Oracle of Stamboul by Michael David Lukas
I suppose it would be redundant to put hearts in each explanation or say that I love the book.. The Oracle of Stamboul was, quite simply, a gorgeous book. The writing was beautiful, the imagery was breathtaking, the characters were remarkable. I’m still not entirely sure what defines a magical realism novel, but if others are like this book, I’ll definitely be reading more.

A Fraction of the Whole by Steve Toltz
The first time I read this book, it was merely to get through it (this is a ridiculously long book – 700+ pages) & from what I’ve heard, it had originally been a few hundred longer before publication. After finishing that last page, I immediately wanted to begin again & this time, actually read. Completely immerse myself in the world fleshed out by Toltz and get to really know the characters. There are so many little quips and tidbits I’m positive I missed during my initial read and with it being so long since I’ve read it, a reread will prove just how much I managed to gloss over.

Darkmans by Nicola Barker
Another huge, huge book (this one is closer to 900 pages), yet another that apologetically sucked me in. It seems that my favorite books tend to me set in other countries (The Oracle of Stamboul, India; A Fraction of the Whole, Australia; Darkmans, England). Just like the other two, although this novel is set in the real world, it has that something extra, something other about it and I love that. Darkmans introduced me to the Man Booker Prize & I am now entirely of the belief that any winner is well worth reading (I have gone so far as to purchase books based solely on the fact they were even nominated). I am so utterly in love with this book, that I am hellbent on naming a future son after my favorite character.

The Raw Shark Texts by Steven Hall
This book completely blew. my. mind. when I read it. Some passages were so gorgeously written. Although this was an excellent book, the reason I want to reread it is because I was so lost the first time. For the majority of the book, I felt I wasn’t clever or smart enough to understand just what was going on. I had so many questions, especially at the end, that it pretty much demands another read.

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
Does this one really need an explanation?

I, Lucifer by Glen Duncan
This is one book I can read 50 times and still find the jokes just as funny as they were the first time. ..that actually could be this book’s only problem. Years ago I had been reading this at work (at the time I worked for a lawyer and had my own little office) and reached a scene where I simply lost it. I attempted to stifle my giggles, but I couldn’t.

American Gods by Neil Gaiman
Does this come as any surprise? Gaiman is Gaiman. And he is fantastic.

Redwall by Brian Jacques
This series was my childhood. These characters were a part of my life and I grew with them. Mr. Jacques passed away earlier this year and when I heard, I cried. His death affected me immensely. I felt as though a family member had died. These books are my warm, fuzzy blanket.

Chrestomanci by Diana Wynne Jones
Another series extremely paramount to my childhood. I had read the collected volumes (~600 pages each) and those were the first books that large I can remember reading. Not only were they longer than anything I had ever read, but I also tore through them in a matter of days. I wound up buying multiple copies of the books (something I had never done with any other book) and still cherish them to this day.

East of Eden by John Steinbeck
I had put this off and put this off for years before finally (and begrudgingly) reading it. …and I fell madly in love. There really isn’t anything else that needs to be said. This is an amazing book.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! 9/27

    1. haha! The only book of his I haven’t read is Coraline! I’ve found that the people who enjoy his more adult work (American Gods, Neverwhere, Sandman etc) aren’t huge fans of his children/YA stuff (Stardust, Coraline) & vice versa.

  1. Leah, You started reading when you were 3, how in the world did you narrow your favorites down? – Mom
    PS Your writing style is so beautiful, so elegant. Don’t know if I’ve told you that before.

    1. I guess technically, this is a list of my favorite books. Who doesn’t want to reread favorites? :) But there are plenty of others I want to reread too.

      Thank you so much. <3 <3 lol, that means a lot, seeing as how I wrote this post around 1am.

Leave a Reply

