2011 · mystery · paranormal

review; Death Perception

Crazy week = a quiet blog. It’s pretty disheartening that I’ve only managed to finish one book. Ha, re-reading this review it’s clear that midnight isn’t the best time for me to post new entries… 8|

Abby Cooper’s betting the house on her inner eye…

It took a while for Abby Cooper’s FBI agent boyfriend, Dutch Rivers, to accept her psychic gifts as the real deal. But these days he knows better than to question Abby’s visions. So when his favorite cousin Chase is kidnapped in Vegas, they both catch the next flight to Sin City. Abby’s inner eye insists that Chase is still alive, but nothing else about the case adds up—especially Dutch’s reluctance to involve his own Bureau.

On top of everything, Dutch is battling a mysterious illness, and Abby keeps having disturbing dreams that predict his death. Dutch wants Abby to promise that if the investigation goes south, she’ll head home to safety. But when the chips are down, Abby won’t fold without a fight…

– taken from goodreads

I adore this series. At the beginning of the year, I made it a goal of mine to step out of my comfort zone and read some authors/genres I hadn’t before. Through some book-hopping at goodreads, I discovered a whole new world in cozy mysteries. They are so ridiculous and fun and completely unlike anything I had ever read! While there were some brain fluff books I enjoyed, I would only read ~true literature~ and unfortunately missed out on so, so much. :) I’m so glad I decided to broaden my reading this year.

This series follows Abby Cooper, a professional psychic. The first four books worked as stand-alone novels; you could have started with book 3 and not be lost. Anything important is explained repeatedly (sometimes this becomes a little grating, particularly when you’re halfway through the series and the author still insists on reminding you of Abby’s dog’s name/why he was named that). The fifth book, Crime Seen & this book however, are connected. Parts one and two if you will.

In Crime Seen Dutch begins to investigate a cold case involving a superior. Death Perception gets to the heart of the action and Abby finds herself in Las Vegas.

Although it was nice to have some sense of continuity, I miss the silly antics of the earlier books – the mafia dons, the haunted houses, it was all light and fun.

I’m far less judgmental when it comes to cozy mysteries than I am regarding other genres. These books aren’t aiming to be anything other than fluff. That said, few things put me off more than a long-winded spiel from the villain detailing every last part of the plan. I. Hate. That. During the big reveal, the Bad Guy goes on for a few pages explaining absolutely everything!

Also, it just now dawned on me that the covers for this series are totally wrong. Multiple times it’s been mentioned that Abby has waist-length hair..

Despite a few minor issues, I still enjoyed this book and look forward to reading the next!

Leave a Reply

