memes

yoinked a blogging meme!

I’ve mentioned a few times now that I am a meme addict. Back when myspace ruled the world I would spend hours filling out surveys. I had joined communities on Livejournal specifically dedicated to posting surveys. ♥ love~

The Story Siren posted a blog meme over the weekend and I couldn’t resist.

Why did you start blogging?
Originally it was just a way to get my thoughts out. I never blogged about my personal/offline life, just fandom. I met so many wonderful friends and that was how I found that there’s a whole new world online. I’m not the only person who likes so-and-so! Look, other people also love this series!! Etc, etc.

When did you start blogging?
I created my first LJ back in 2001, so ten years now.

Why did you name your blog So Says the Whale?
Ha! Totally embarrassing and slightly ridiculous, but my ex & I have a running joke about hipsters and hipstery things. While thinking of a hipster name, so says the whale came to me and I liked it enough to take it as my own.

Who designed your blog?
At the moment, I’m using your basic, ready-made theme. No custom designs just yet. It’s nice and simple and gets the job done. I’m not a big fan of layouts that are so cluttered with buttons, badges, and links that it’s near impossible to navigate.

Is blogging your job?
Wouldn’t that be nice! I’d love to sit at home all day and not bother with Real People Clothes. Alas, blogging is not my job. I work at a bookstore.

How old are you?
23.

What is your favorite YA book?
To be honest, I’m not entirely sure. YA isn’t my genre of choice, although there are some really great books I’ve discovered.

What Harry Potter House would you be sorted into?
Still awaiting my Pottermore e-mail, but I believe I’d be in Ravenclaw.

How fast do you read?
It depends on the book. If it’s interesting I can breeze right through it. However, if a book is ‘heavy’ and slow, I might have to read and re-read a page because my mind will wander.

Do you read more than one book at a time?
Lately, no. I used to. I used to read multiple books at once (the most I ever did was seven at a time). Whenever I got to a slow or boring part, I’d swap it with a different book. It would take me ages to finish a book because of this. Nowadays I’ve cut it down to one – two at the most. With reviews, it’s simply easier to keep track of what’s going on when I don’t have seven plots with seven books worth of characters running through my head.

Do you read ebooks?
I do! I have a Nookcolor and love it. Originally I wasn’t sure I could handle reading a screen when I love to hold physical copies in my hands. By now, I’m used to it. I’m not sure if I prefer it, but it’s certainly convenient. If I’m unable to find a physical copy at my store, I’ll hunt down the ebook.

Why don’t you give star ratings?
I’ve thought about it & am still thinking of using some sort of rating system, but so far I haven’t bothered with it.

What program do you use to edit your IMM videos?
I still haven’t participated in IMM!

Leave a Reply

