book blogger hop

Book Blogger Hop!

Book Blogger Hop is a weekly meme hosted by Crazy for Books.

This week’s question:

Many of us primarily read one genre of books, with others sprinkled in. If authors stopped writing that genre, what genre would you start reading? Or would you give up reading completely if you couldn’t read that genre anymore?

Well. I’m at a loss. The main bulk of what I read is fiction, but there are so many sub-genres that I really couldn’t pinpoint what is it I tend to favor. Also, I’ve been trying to broaden my reading this year & it seems like I’m doing a pretty good job of it, since I’m clearly unable to answer this very well.

I’ve noticed if I read too much of something, I tire of it fairly quickly. Dan Brown ushered in a whole army of authors/books trying to capitalize on the whole ‘historical-mystery-thriller-SECRET-SOCIETIES!!!!’ deal. …which I loved. However, there are only so many times I can read about the same secret society with the same nefarious schemes before I’ve had enough.

Getting back to the question, I’m not really sure what genre I would move on to. I do like a bit of everything. Lately I’ve been reading more and more sci-fi, so I suppose I would continue the move.

I don’t think I would ever stop reading entirely. That’s absurd!

4 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop!

    1. Thing is, I normally love those secret society/long lost object/conspiracy books. But lately there have been way too much of the same exact thing. & unfortunately, they’re so formulaic.

  1. I totally agree with what you said about tiring of something — I sometimes find an author I like, read a whole bunch of their books, and feel like I’ve od’d. :)

    1. YES. Although if the author mixes it up a bit or writes stories completely different from one another I don’t have a problem. There’s a series I’ve been reading this year and even though the books are pretty short & fun & easy to get through, I still need to take a break and read other things in between the books.

Leave a Reply

