book beginnings

Book Beginnings 9/9

Ooh, I love memes. Love, love, love them. Through random bloghopping I discovered a weekly meme hosted by A Few More Pages called Book Beginnings.

The idea is to post the first few lines from the book(s) you’re currently reading & then talk a little bit about them. FUN!

Robert E. Lee paused to dip his pen once more in the inkwell. Despite flannel shirt, uniform coat, and heavy winter boots, he shivered a little.

The Guns of the South by Harry Turtledove

I mentioned this book in another post recently. I am slightly obsessed with the Civil War. I’m also slightly obsessed with alternative histories. A novel where the Confederacy wins? There was no resisting for me.

4 thoughts on “Book Beginnings 9/9

  1. No way – an alt history of the Civil War? I am intrigued, and I like these first lines. Must go check this one out!

    Thanks for participating in Book Beginnings! I’m glad you joined us this week!

    1. :) It was fun!

      This one caught my eye a while ago – Russian time-travelers supply the South with guns and they defeat the Union. The premise is just so ridiculous I can’t help but love it.

    1. I was so surprised, the plot gets going by the second page! I definitely wasn’t expecting things to happen so fast, but I’m glad it did. I’m not a big fan of books that start off slow.

Leave a Reply

