Cold Calls by Charles Benoit

Cold Calls by Charles Benoit
Pub. Date: April 1, 2014
Source: ARC via publisher (thank you, Clarion Books/HMH!)
Summary: Three high school students-Eric, Shelly, and Fatima-have one thing in common: “I know your secret.”

Each one is blackmailed into bullying specifically targeted schoolmates by a mysterious caller who whispers from their cell phones and holds carefully guarded secrets over their heads. But how could anyone have obtained that photo, read those hidden pages, uncovered this buried past? Thrown together, the three teens join forces to find the stranger who threatens them-before time runs out and their shattering secrets are revealed . . .
Genre: YA, Thriller, Mystery
Rating:

Cold Calls is pitched as “Pretty Little Liars-meets-The Breakfast Club” and “for fans of I Know What You Did Last Summer and The Face on the Milk Carton.” I try to avoid giving in to comparisons, but I’m very pleased to say that, this time, Cold Calls lives up to the hype!

Recently, Eric has been getting very strange calls, no number shows up and the caller’s voice is disguised. At first he writes it off as a harmless prank, something that perhaps a freshman thought would be funny. After receiving a picture taken from inside his bedroom, Eric quickly realizes this isn’t just another prank. This caller isn’t messing around and unless Eric wants that picture made public – which he most definitely does NOT want – he better do everything the caller says. Eventually following these orders lands him in an anti-bullying program and it’s there he meets two girls who surprised him by confessing that they too have been receiving calls. Who is this caller and how does this person know their darkest secrets?

To say I breezed through this book wouldn’t be an exaggeration. Cold Calls is such a captivating and intriguing read that I tore through it in a matter of hours. The entire time I was trying to figure out two things: WHO was the person behind these calls and WHAT were the big secrets that these three didn’t want leaked? I won’t spoil anything, but – trust me, if I were in their shoes I would definitely do anything I had to in order to make sure everything remained private.

Although Cold Calls is initially told through Eric’s and Shelly’s eyes, it’s not until the anti-bullying program that Fatima is introduced and adds her own narrative. And you guys know me – I’m all about multiple narratives! The more the merrier! The more I saw of these kids, the more I felt for them. All three were scared and so ashamed. What really broke my heart was that they were worried for themselves, they were doing these things to avoid hurting others. If any of these secrets were exposed loved ones would be hurt and these three are going through hell to protect the person they love.

There was only one small issue I had with Cold Calls. All three felt as those they had no chance of getting any evidence on the caller. While I understand why they didn’t go to the police, if one of them (or even all three!) had simply recorded one of the phone calls they would have had all the evidence they needed. Law enforcement then could have stepped in, traced the calls, and caught the person behind it. But then that wouldn’t have made for a very good story, would it?

Cold Calls is the kind of story I love getting lost in. Prior to blogging I was a die-hard Mystery reader and love revisiting my roots. Mysteries of the Young Adult variety are still new to me, but as Cold Calls proves, they’re just as engaging. The entire time I was trying to figure out the identity of the caller and the motives behind the calls. I ended up behind completely wrong (and felt a tiny bit cheated with the Big Reveal), but overall I had a great time with this book! Face pace, highly entertaining plot, and a fun mystery to boot! If you’re looking to play detective for an afternoon, look no further than Cold Calls.

About these ads

3 thoughts on “Cold Calls by Charles Benoit

  1. Pingback: my week in pictures 4/6 | The Pretty Good Gatsby

  2. Pingback: april recap! | The Pretty Good Gatsby

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s