March’s goal check-in and monthly recap


image via pinterest

Is it just me or is this year going by crazy fast? Thankfully it seems we’ve put the worst of the cold weather behind us, though Mother Nature’s icy fingers are still latching on some days. Spring will be here soon!

You guys might remember my goal check-in last month. It’s something I want to keep up with. Let’s take a look!

READING


At my last check-in I had read 11 books so far. I’m currently at 23 books, and will be finishing number 24 this morning! In terms of my yearly goal (60 books) I’m 38% there! The part where I failed in my goal was that I did not read any library books or books I already own. That’s definitely my #1 priority in April! I was a little less rigid when it came to reading review copies though – I read the ones I wanted to read, rather than the ones with the closest release date.

The other aspect of this goal was to read the books I’m actually inclined to read – and enjoy – rather than pick something with a pretty cover and hope for the best. How did I do this month?
My ratings so far this year:
5 stars: 3
4 stars: 12
3 stars: 3
2 stars: 3
1 star: 1
DNF: 1

So, yeah, there were a few duds, but for the most part I think I’m doing pretty well!

REQUESTING

Raise your hand if you’ve got a netgalley addiction! :) I know I’m not alone in this. I’ve been doing pretty well I think – I haven’t requested any physical ARCs and the ones I received (and read) turned out to be great (one even became a 5-star read!). As for netgalley I’ve only requested 3 titles. One by an author whose previous novels have been 5-star reads, one is a sequel to one of my favorite books of last year, and one is a totally new-to-me author.

I know I’ve still got a lot of work ahead of me, but I’m making progress! What about you? Have you set any bookish goals for the year?

…& THIS MONTH ON THE BLOG

REVIEWS
A Death-Struck Year by Makiia Lucier 4/5
Historical YA dealing with a subject I haven’t seen yet: the Spanish Influenza. This was one of those books that felt handcrafted for me. I’m horribly obsessed with deadly plagues and viruses and Lucier’s respect was top-notch! There are also a few pages of historical notes! ♥
Dangerous by Shannon Hale DNF
What a disappointment this book was! A YA that read more like an early chapter book, this story was just all over the place. Two love interests AND a make-out session within the first 20 pages, a plot that went nowhere, and a disability that ultimately was ~magically~ fixed. Skip this one.
Savage Girl by Jean zimmerman 4.5/5
If you’re a fan of historical fiction, pick up a copy of this one! A high society family takes in a feral child and attempts to raise her – and debut her to the Manhattan upper crust. And don’t forget the string of gruesome murders that seem to follow in her wake!
The Weight of Blood by Laura McHugh 3/5
We’ve all experienced first-hand what giving into hype can do. We know we should avoid it, but I’m guilty as charge with this one. A debut murder-mystery targeted toward “fans of Gillian Flynn.” I haven’t read Ms. Flynn’s works, but that’s pretty high praise. While this wasn’t a bad book, it’s completely forgettable.
HYDE by Daniel Levine 1/5
Another HUGE disappointment. I’m all for retellings and reimaginings and was so looking forward to seeing Hyde as a hero. Unfortunately I cared far more about the secondary characters, storylines were never resolved, and the books creepy obsession with fecal matter completely turned me off. It seems I’m in the minority though, so make of that what you will.
The House at the End of Hope Street by Menna van Praag 5/5
If I could give this novel all the stars – and then some! – I would. I happily sacrificed sleep for this beautiful book and regret nothing. Fans of magical realism, THIS ONE IS FOR YOU!
The Other Half by Sarah Rayner 3/3
I love stepping outside my comfort zone. In terms of reading, that is! This novel was about an affair and was told through the eyes of the wife and the mistress.
Abby Spencer Goes to Bollywood by Varsha Bajaj 4/5
Adorable Middle Grade novels are the best! In this one, Abby wants to meet the father she’s never known – and discovers he’s a famous Bollywood actor! This book single-handed kickstarted my Bollywood obsession!
Lockstep by Karl Schroeder 4/5
I know hard sci-fi and space operas won’t appeal to everyone, but if you’re a fan of the genre, check out this book! A boy goes on a routine mission only to wake 14,000 years later – and his brother has taken over the empire. SO much fun, fantastic world-building, and such an entertaining ride. The only problem was that, at times, the book made me feel a bit dumb. Ha!

FEATURES
My Week in Pictures 3/22
After more than a year of Stacking the Shelves, I decided to go my own route. I love getting to know bloggers through their personal posts – why not do that myself? I still talk about the books I receive, but I also give little glimpses into the OTHER aspects of my life. This edition included birthdays and babies!
My Week in Pictures 3/30
Bollywood films, current reads, and I’m a winner!

ODDS & ENDS
My Love Affair with the Art Novel
Despite having NO knowledge whatsoever about art or the art world, I seem drawn to the topic in fiction. After a fairly lackluster review (I Always Loved You) I wanted to compile a list of other art novels. This list showcases not only the ones featured on the blog but also some that are upcoming and staples I have yet to read!
That Weekend I Culled My Goodreads Shelves
A little virtual spring cleaning anyone? In this post I discussed some interested things I discovered about my reading habits and a few new shelves I created.

2 thoughts on “March’s goal check-in and monthly recap

Leave a Reply

