review; river road

Title: River Road (Sentinels of New Orleans #2)
Author: Suzanne Johnson
Pub. Date: November 13, 2012
Summary:

Hurricane Katrina is long gone, but the preternatural storm rages on in New Orleans. New species from the Beyond moved into Louisiana after the hurricane destroyed the borders between worlds, and it falls to wizard sentinel Drusilla Jaco and her partner, Alex Warin, to keep the preternaturals peaceful and the humans unaware. But a war is brewing between two clans of Cajun merpeople in Plaquemines Parish, and down in the swamp, DJ learns, there’s more stirring than angry mermen and the threat of a were-gator.

Wizards are dying, and something—or someone—from the Beyond is poisoning the waters of the mighty Mississippi, threatening the humans who live and work along the river. DJ and Alex must figure out what unearthly source is contaminating the water and who—or what—is killing the wizards. Is it a malcontented merman, the naughty nymph, or some other critter altogether? After all, DJ’s undead suitor, the pirate Jean Lafitte, knows his way around a body or two.

It’s anything but smooth sailing on the bayou as the Sentinels of New Orleans series continues.

Genre: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy
Rating:

People jog at dawn for a reason. If they wait, their brains will wake up and convince them there are things they’d rather do. Like have oral surgery.

The first book in the series, Royal Street was something I picked up on a whim. I’m a total sucker for pretty covers and, although I’m not a big fan of the genre, paranormal/urban fantasy tends to have SUPER SHINY OH-SO-PRETTY covers.

To my complete surprise, I loved it. Much to my delight I didn’t have to wait long at all for the sequel – less than a year! Guys, I’m extremely pleased to announce River Road does NOT suffer from Middle Book Syndrome. In fact, I’ll go so far as to say it’s even better than its predecessor!

River Road takes place three years after Hurricane Katrina laid waste to New Orleans in Royal Street. I was a bit surprised by the time lapse (I’m not used to such large gaps between books!), but from the very first page the book is off running.

If you’re new to the series, Drusilla Jaco – DJ – is a Green Congress wizard, meaning that while she can do magic, her abilities are limited. Alex Warin, shape-shifter extraordinaire is her ex-enforcer partner and his cousin Jake is a recently-turned loup-garou: the biggest, baddest breed of werewolf. Add in the centuries-old undead pirate Jean Lafitte and you’re set. Especially when all three men are unsure of their feelings for DJ (just as she’s equally unsure of her own feelings for them).

Jean Lafitte informs DJ of an odd illness afflicting mermaid clans and upon investigating, two bodies of Green Congress wizards are discovered. It’s up to DJ and crew to find out what’s going on and just who is behind the attacks.

The plaque on the enormous clock claimed it has been hand-carved of mahogany in 1909, about 130 years after the birth of the undead pirate waiting for me upstairs.
They were both quite handsome, but the clock was a lot safer.

Needless to say, I love this series. With the first book, I was a little worried about how the author would handle Katrina’s aftermath. After reading, I realized I had nothing to worry about: Suzanne Johnson took a painful subject still fresh in mind and approached it delicately and respectfully. River Road is no different: New Orleans is still struggling to regain its footing and Johnson tells it like it is. No sugar-coating here, folks.

River Road introduces a few new species (mers, nymphs) and I loved getting to know them! That said, even though there are plenty of new characters, all the old ones get plenty of screen time, so to speak. I especially enjoyed Jean’s scenes (I’m totally Team Lafitte, by the way!) and absolutely cannot wait to see him again!

Having three super-hot, though not exactly human, love interests might seem like overkill, but I loved it. Jean Lafitte, eternal flirt and gentleman, seems to genuinely care for DJ; Jake has made no secret of his feelings, though his inability to control his loup-garou form makes him hesitant; and Alex is definitely changing their “we’re-much-better-as-friends” relationship. I loved seeing the interactions with each guy and I actually GASPED at that final paragraph! Oh man. Talk about an ending!

Guys, seriously. If you’re looking for a fun, funny urban fantasy, look no further!

Sentinels of New Orleans series

  • Royal Street (review → here!)
  • River Road
  • Elysian Fields (coming 08/13)
5 thoughts on “review; river road

  1. VeganYANerds

    I haven’t heard of this until but it sounds great and I love when a book really surprises you!

    Also, I hope you get to do a read-a-long, my bf doesn’t read, so I know he’d never agree to one ;)

    Reply
  2. Pingback: stacking the shelves 12/22: no apocalypse edition « The Pretty Good Gatsby

  3. Pingback: leah’s favorites of 2012 « The Pretty Good Gatsby

  4. Pingback: wizards & shifters & the undead, oh my: Elysian Fields by Suzanne Johnson | The Pretty Good Gatsby

Leave a Reply

